LOUISIANA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES



KATHY EDMONSTON State Representative ~ District 88

November 23, 2021

Dr. Courtney Phillips, Secretary Louisiana Department of Health <u>courtney.phillips@la.gov</u> <u>pamela.wells@la.gov</u>

Dr. Joseph Kanter Public Health Officer joseph.kanter@la.gov

Dear Dr. Philips and Dr. Kanter:

We have yet to receive a response to our October 12th letter to Dr. Phillips related to placing the Covid-19 shot on the LDH list of required immunizations for Louisiana students. Without any communication from LDH to the Legislature, we learned on Friday, November 19th in the newspaper after the thirty-day comment period was closed, that your department has promulgated a new rule to add the Covid-19 shot to the required list. Your complete silence and disrespect are unconscionable.

Legally this proposed rule change violates state law.

LA RS 17:170 at A requires any vaccination placed on the required list must be for a vaccine preventable disease. The Covid-19 shot does not fit this legal description. Neither is your office recognizing the natural immunity cited in this law. This point was the sole purpose of our October 12th letter.

Legally this proposed rule change violates federal law.

All shots for Covid-19 available in the United States are presently under Emergency Use Authorization. As such they cannot be mandated or required, as this treatment is presently an experimental drug.

Prior to the adoption of this rule change the House Health and Welfare Committee will be having a hearing on December 6th. We strongly urge you to be present for the entire meeting to hear public testimony and respond to questions from the committee.

Your total disregard and lack of communication are unacceptable for the duty and charge of your position. We expect a reply to this letter before the December 6th hearing.

We are hopeful that you will withdraw this proposed change to the required immunization schedule. If not, you can expect that there will be pushback from not only many of the Louisiana Legislature, but the public as well.

Respectfully,

Beryl Amedee, House District 51

Rhonda Butler, House District 38

Raymond Crews, House District 8

Michael Echols, House District 14

Rick Edmonds, House District 66

Kathy Edmonston, House District 88

Julie Emerson, House District 39

Larry Frieman, House District 74

Valarie Hodges, House District 51

Dodie Horton, House District 9

Sherman Mack, House District 95

Danny McCormick, House District 1

Blake Miguez, House District 49

Charles Owen, House District 30

Troy Romero, House District 37

Rodney Schamerhorn, House District 24

Mark Wright, House District 77

Governor John Bel Edwards, adam.eitmann@la.gov, alicia.williams@la.gov cc: Attorney General Jeff Landry, hebertcl@ag.louisiana.gov, murrille@ag.louisiana.gov Superintendent Cade Brumley, cade.brumley@la.gov Sandy Holloway, BESE Chairman, sandy.holloway@la.gov James Carter, Chairman University of Louisiana System, jcarter@jamescarterlawfirm.com Robert F. Dampf, Chairman Louisiana State University Board of Supervisors, dampf@lsu.edu Paul Price, Jr., Chairman of LCTC Board of Supervisors, paulpricejr@bellsouth.net Demoine D. Rutledge, Chairman SU Board of Supervisors, demoine_rutledge@sus.edu William Tate, President LSU, tate@lsu.edu Winston Decuir, wdecuirjr@lsu.edu Jim Henderson, President University of Louisiana System, cami.geismar@ulsystem.ed Rick Gallot, President Grambling, prez@gramling.edu Les Guice, President Louisiana Tech, guice@latech.edu Daryl Burckel, President McNeese State, dburckel@mcneese.edu Marcus Jones, Interim President Northwester Stat, marcusj@nsula.edue John Crain, President Southeastern, jcrain@southeastern.edu Joseph Savoie, President UL of Lafayette, prez@louisiana.edu Ron Berry, President of UL of Monroe, rberry@ulm.edu John Nicklow, President of UNO, jnicklow@uno.edu Monty Sullivan, President Louisiana Community & Technical College System Larry Bagley, Chairman House Health and Welfare Committee, lbagley@legis.la.gov Fred Mills, Chairman Senate Health and Welfare Committee, fmills@legis.la.gov